Skip to main content

New York Times Online: Home

This guide will walk you through the process for creating your New York Times Online account and show you how to use the added features.

New York Times Online

Students and staff now have full complimentary access to NYTimes.com and NYTimes mobile apps, thanks to our university-wide subscription.

We encourage you to take advantage of the world-class journalism of The New York Times to enrich your educational experience. 

NYTimes.com covers a variety of topics with unsurpassed quality and depth through breaking news articles, blogs, videos and interactive features. In addition, you will be able to share content on social networks, save articles of interest, subscribe to email newsletters and set up personalized alerts. Your access to NYTimes.com is available from any location, on or off campus. 

Overview and Key Features

Overview
NYTimes.com is a multi-platform news tool that provides full access to New York Times and International New York Times content, including breaking news, multimedia, reviews and opinion, blogs, videos and more. NYTimes.com is updated 24/7 with corresponding time stamps. From the home page, one can access more than 25 Times sections, including World, Politics, New York, Opinion, Business, Technology, Science, Sports, Arts, Fashion & Style, and Video.

International Edition
Edited from Paris, London, Hong Kong and New York, The International New York Times (formerly The International Herald Tribune) provides readers with a continuous flow of geopolitical, business, sports and culture coverage from a distinctly global perspective. Users are able to read the International Edition with simple navigational tools on both the web and mobile apps. Users are also able to read the Chinese Edition on the web.

Sharing & Commenting
NYTimes.com allows the user to email an article (to both subscribers and non-subscribers) and share it via social media, including Facebook, Twitter, Google+, Reddit, and LinkedIn. Its cross-platform feature allows the user to retrieve saved articles from the device of his/her choice. The permalink feature allows hyperlinks to easily be added to any Course Management System. Users are able to submit comments on each article, and will be posted upon review by the New York Times newsroom.

Newsletters, Alerts & Times Wire
NYTimes.com provides 30+ daily and weekly newsletters on topics such as Top Headlines, Breaking News, Small Business, Movies Update, and Cooking, delivered directly to the user’s inbox. Its most recent ‘What We’re Reading’ email newsletter features a roundup of great reads from around the web, chosen by New York Times reporters and editors. Custom alerts can also be created to monitor when specific keywords appear in NYTimes.com. Times Wire is a continuous stream of the latest articles and blog posts published on NYTimes.com.

Most Read & Recommended Articles
NYTimes.com lists the ‘most emailed’ and ‘most viewed’ articles by our readers each day. It also serves up ‘recommended for you’ articles based on the articles each user has previously viewed.

Mobility
Users have the ability to access NYTimes.com ‘on the go’ using a collection of phone and tablet apps for iPhone, iPad, Android, Windows Phone, BlackBerry, and Kindle Fire.

Historical Coverage
NYTimes.com institutional subscriptions provide full access to New York Times articles published between 1851 through 1922, and between 1981 through current day. Access to the years 1923-1980 is limited for institutional subscribers.

Search
NYTimes.com provides searchable access to articles, videos, blogs, features, interviews, obituaries, and columns. NYTimes.com features a single search box with result-filtering that includes date range, result type (article vs. blog), section, author and the ability to search on ‘images only.’

Today’s Paper
Today’s Paper section allows the user to read all of the current day’s print content in a digital format. Contained in this section are all of the articles found in that day’s print edition (along with corresponding page numbers).

Times Topics
Times Topics pages consolidate all the news, reference and archival information, photos, graphics, audio and video files published on predefined topics ranging from A M Castle & Company to Zyuganov, Gennadi A. Times Topics pages cover people, subjects, organizations, and places. Times Topics also provides other resources from around the web that have been selected by researchers and editors of The New York Times.

Cross Searching with Other Relevant Content
NYTimes.com is primarily a single-source browsable tool, but it does provide content from other sources selected by the New York Times newsroom via Times Wire, Times Topics and NYT Now (top news iPhone app).

Real-Time Market Data Information & Company Research Pages
NYTimes.com provides real-time global snapshots of US and World Markets, Funds, Currencies, Bonds & Consumer Rates powered by Thomson Reuters with data provided by Morningstar &
BankRate. In-depth company research pages covering 11,000+ public and private companies are also provided.