Skip to main content

Library - About: Home

About FDU Libraries

Message from the University Librarian

It is a pleasure to welcome you to Fairleigh Dickinson University Library!  The Library is home to rich collections, dedicated staff and skilled librarians to help you succeed with your studies as a student at any one of our four locations:  Metropolitan Campus and Florham Campus both in North New Jersey, Vancouver Campus in Canada, or Wroxton Campus in England.  Consistent with the University’s Mission and core value system, the Library is committed to be an active participant in the critical role of supporting and encouraging our students in the pursuit of lifelong learning by providing an environment that fosters discovery, growth of ideas and knowledge.

Whether in person on each of the campuses or off campus via remote access, the Library offers fully developed, physical libraries on each campus plus two smaller facilities: A Business Research Library in Dickinson Hall on the Metro campus, and a Learning Commons Study Room on the Vancouver campus.  Each library serves as a center for education and learning on its campus and has developed distinctive collections tailored to the programs offered there. 

At any location, you can access a wide variety of resources and services such as general and specialized databases covering all our programs, a robust catalog with the ability to search collections worldwide, interlibrary loan, reserves, workshops, information literacy classes, and access to librarians who are your information specialists and always ready to help.  We are committed to student success and continually work to build our impressive collections at a healthy pace.

The FDU Digital Archives collection consists of unique items from the university's archives, and from distinctive collections developed in collaboration with non-library partners, related to both the history of Northern New Jersey and the University. Materials include master's theses, government documents, historical photographs and documents, digital artifacts, maps, and podcasts. This collection is continually growing as we work to preserve our University's heritage.

Equipped with these impressive resources and services, our friendly, knowledgeable and, student-centered librarians are dedicated to clearing the haze that many students face when too much or not enough information creates barriers to success.  Teaching our students to become information literate is more than just our job – it is our vocation.  We recognize the need for libraries to keep up with and continue to make the process of research, teaching and learning a versatile experience – where knowledge is gained from information that is not simply gathered, but lived and experienced.  Start your own journey at FDU Library – visit us in person on our campuses, online, or follow us on social media.  We are here to help.

Sincerely,

Ana E. Fontoura
University Librarian
Fairleigh Dickinson University