The Frank Giovatto Library is on the Teaneck side of the Metropolitan Campus. Its collections contain approximately 154,000 volumes and 1,320 DVDs. Approximately 430 periodical titles are currently received.
The Giovatto Library graces the cover of the November 2013 issue of Choice Magazine, published by the American Library Association (ALA).
The Giovatto Library materials include DVDs, audiobooks on CD, microforms, as well as books and periodicals. Of special interest are the Columbia film archives and selected presidential papers on microfilm.
Digital scanners for print and microform are located in the Public Services area, adjacent to the Reference and Circulation Desk. A fax for student use is located in the Periodicals Office.
The Sammartino Room, located on the first floor, is intended to house and to showcase the intellectual and historical heritage of the university. Its collection includes doctoral dissertations, FDU Press publications, the FDU Magazine archive, the Literary Review, FDU Yearbooks, books about the university and by university faculty, as well as FDU memorabilia.
The J. Michael Adams Room, located on the ground floor of the Giovatto Library and opposite the Sammartino Room in the Special Collections Suite, is intended to house books from the collection of J. Michael Adams, along with photos and memorabilia of his years as President of Fairleigh Dickinson University and of the International Association of University Presidents.
While dedicated to the memory of J. Michael Adams, the space is open and available to students and other Library users, as are all the rooms in the Special Collections Suite, Monday – Friday, 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM, and by appointment.
The books from the J. Michael Adams collection may also be borrowed by members of the FDU community.
Both the Sammartino Room and the J. Michael Adams Room may also be reserved for small group meetings. They both have wireless, along with desktop computers, for student convenience.
The Special Collections suite also includes the Faculty Display Case for current faculty publications, as well as the work of alumni authors. The Undergraduate Research and Writing Room contains Honors theses and other undergraduate writing.
The Library Conference/ITV Room, located in the administrative office suite, is intended for Library use and may be reserved by faculty and staff for university business.
The FDU Online Library provides access to 190+ subscription databases containing over 20,000 full-text journals, more than 145,000 e-books, and a streaming video collection. Most resources within the FDU Online Library are available 24/7, both on campus and remotely.
The FDU Digital Archives collection consists of unique items from the university's archives, and from distinctive collections developed in collaboration with non-library partners, related to both the history of Northern New Jersey and the University. Materials include master's theses, government documents, historical photographs and documents, digital artifacts, maps, and podcasts. This collection is continually growing as we work to preserve our university's heritage.